The Homestead Rebate program provides some amount of property tax relief to almost all homeowners, with only those living in a co-op, in a senior living community, or those who sold their home after applying being ineligible.
New Jersey homeowners should’ve received their 2015 Homestead Act application packets either through mail or email. Read the packet carefully, and if you meet the eligibility requirements, you can then fill out the worksheet and file either online or through the phone. To those who have sold their home that was their residence October 1, 2015, then pay special attention to the instructions regarding sale of property.
To be eligible, homeowners must meet the following qualifications:
- Owned a house as their principal residence in New Jersey on October 1, 2015
- Had New Jersey gross income for 2015 that was not more than $150,000 for homeowners who were 65 or older or disabled, and not more than $75,000 for homeowners who were under age 65 and not disabled. The income limits apply to a single individual, a married/civil union couple living in the same residence, and a married/civil union partner maintaining a residence separate from their spouse/civil union partner.
- The home was subject to local property taxes, and the 2015 property taxes were paid.
- Recipient’s permanent legal residence was in New Jersey.
The benefit amount will be based off of 2006 property taxes for each home with most homeowners receiving benefits as credit on their property tax bills. Homeowners who no longer live in their residence from October 1, 2015, will receive their benefit via check or direct deposit.
If there are any questions regarding how to file your 2015 Homestead Act application, do not hesitate to call or visit the following websites:
To file applications by phone: 1-877-658-2972
To file applications online: www.njtaxation.org
To ask questions: 1-888-238-1233 (8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, except State holidays)
· In-person assistance is available at Taxation Regional Information Centers from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, except State holidays. You can find your local center by clicking this link.
General information about the Homestead Rebate and other tax credits can be found online at the Treasury Department’s website.